風險思維

ISO 9001:2015 及 ISO14001:2015 都強調風險思維 (Risk-based thinking),往後其他新版本的ISO管理系統亦會有這個概念。風險思維的理解對於實行ISO管理系統非常重要!

什麼是風險思維 (Risk-based thinking)? 如何才能應用?

風險思維 (Risk-based thinking)並不等於風險管理(Risk Management)或風險評估(Risk Assessment),ISO的條文亦沒有要求要做這兩樣東西,規範相對較小,讓中小企業都能夠因應他們的資源來實行適合他們的管理系統。

舊版本的ISO 9001及ISO14001都有預防行動(Preventive action)的條文,但到了新版本就不再出現,原因是風險思維已經包含了預防行動。風險思維是一個預防性的概念,”思前顧後”。”思前”就是識別及分析影響業務的不確定因素,”顧後”就是分析這些因素對業務有哪些影響。

“有危必有機”,ISO中的風險(Risk)通常和機遇(Opportunity)一起出現,不確定的因素不一定是負面的,也可以是正面的,關鍵是企業如何分析這些因素對企業的影響及採取怎樣的行動。

例如:

一間中小型公司識別了公司其中一個對公司業務影響的內部因素為員工流失率過大,導致人手不足影響服務質素及員工士氣,甚至導致惡性循環,影響公司運作。分析員工流失的原因得知是工作過於單一及缺乏挑戰性,分析後的行動計劃是將流失的員工資源集中培養有潛質的員工,培訓他們如何同時兼顧不同的工作及提高他們的薪金,令工作不再單一的同時還增加了挑戰性,目的是將員工流失的風險減低。行動計劃亦須結合風險思維,例如員工的能力是否足以兼顧多項工作,經過特別篩選並和員工商討後發現這個風險並不大,值得冒這個險來取得更好的”機遇”。實行計劃後亦須評估計劃的有效效性,是否能達到預期的目標,將風險思維應用於整個流程中。

ISO 9001:2015 及 ISO14001:2015中的風險思維是貫徹整份標準,由公司的背景、管理層的領導、計劃、流程、分析及評估行動的有效性等等。

ISO 9001:2015 及 ISO14001:2015對風險思維沒有太大的規範性,只要企業適當地實行風險(Risk)和機遇(Opportunity)的概念,並不難符合ISO 9001:2015 或ISO14001:2015的要求,更重要是可以幫助企業提高產品或服務的品質,對公司的業務有相當大的幫助。

Facebook
Facebook
RSS
Google+
Twitter

Leave a reply

你的電子郵件位址並不會被公開。 必要欄位標記為 *

Risk-based Thinking

ISO 9001: 2015 and ISO14001: 2015 both emphasize risk-based thinking and this concept will be applied in other new versions of ISO management systems in the future. The understanding of risk-based thinking is very important for the implementation of ISO management system!

What is risk-based thinking? How can it be applied?

Risk-based thinking is not equal to Risk Management or Risk Assessment. They are not mandatory in the ISO standards. Companies do not need to have complicated risk models to fulfill the requirements of risk-based thinking, so that SMEs can base on to their resources to implement the management system that suits them.

Old versions of ISO 9001 and ISO 14001 have requirements on preventive action, but it no longer appears in the new versions as risk-based thinking already includes preventive action. Risk-based thinking is a precautionary concept, “think back and consider forth”.  “Think back” is to identify and analyze the uncertainty which affect the business, “Consider forth” is to analyze the potential impacts of these factors on the business.

“There is threats , there is opportunity too “. The risk in ISO usually appears with opportunity. The uncertain factors are not necessarily negative or positive. The key is how the enterprises analyze the impacts of these factors and the kinds of actions to take.

For example:

A small and medium-sized company identified one of the company’s internal factors that affected its business: The excessive turnover of staff led to a shortage of staff, which affected the quality of service and morale of employees. It even led to a vicious circle and affected the operation of the company. After analyzing the causes of staff turnover, they found that the work was too simple and unchallenged. The action plan was to concentrate the loss of staff resources on potential employees to train them knowledge and skills to handle different tasks and raise their salaries at the same time. As a result, the work is no longer a single task, but also challenging, which aim to reduce the risk of staff turnover. The action plan shall also incorporate risk-based thinking. For example, there is risk that employees may not be competent enough to take care of a wide range of tasks. After specially selected and discussed with the them, the risk may not be significant and it is worth taking the risk to achieve the “opportunity” after analysis. After the implementation of the action plan, it is also necessary to evaluate the effectiveness of the result whether it achieves the expected goal. Risk-base thinking is applied throughout the process.

Risk-based thinking in ISO 9001: 2015 and ISO 14001: 2015 is incorporated in the entire standards, from context of organization, leadership by top management, planning, processes, analysis and evaluation of the effectiveness of actions and so on.

ISO 9001: 2015 and ISO14001: 2015 do not have strict restriction on risk-based thinking. As long as the enterprises properly implement the concept of risk and opportunity, it is not difficult to meet the requirements of ISO 9001: 2015 or ISO14001: 2015. More importantly, it helps companies improve the quality of products or services, and enhance the growth of business.

Facebook
Facebook
RSS
Google+
Twitter

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *